Combinal Lash & Brow Tint

 

img_2897

One of the numerous changes that have come with menopause is the changes to your hair. You may find, like I have, that there is less of it than there used to be, head to toe, and the colour has also faded. In particular, my eye lashes have become so fair, they are almost invisible. The effect is really ageing, at least it is on me, and I wasn’t keen to have to wear mascara every day or make monthly trips to the salon to have my eye lashes tinted.

A salon tint, done by a good professional, has always given me great results and I wanted to find a product I could safely use at home to do the same.

Unfortunately the home lash tint I had happily been using for some time, was no longer an option. Either my body chemistry changed or the tint did. Regardless, the result was red, weepy, sore eyes. For some months I had been resorting to daily mascara until I decided to try again to find a lash tinting product that worked for me.  I researched for what seemed ages before finding Combinal. I hadn’t heard of the brand until now and I’m so pleased to have found it.

Let me walk you through the process of tinting your lashes at home.

img_2896

The first step is the patch test. Under no circumstances should you skip this step. Mix together a small amount of the tint and developer, then apply it to the crook of your elbow. You can also use a patch behind your ear, however be aware that the tint is difficult to remove from skin so you may want to stick to your arm. Let the patch dry and leave it for twenty-four hours. If there is no itching, redness or other reaction, you are good to go.

Do one eye at a time, start to finish.  Cut your cotton pads in half. Apply petroleum jelly to the eye lids, inner side of your nose and under the eyes, taking care to keep it off the lashes. The petroleum jelly acts as a barrier, protecting your skin from staining by the tint. Mix your tint according to the instructions given; in this case, 2 ml of tint with 5 drops of developer.

Lay one of the prepared cotton pads under your eye, making sure the lower lashes are on top of the pad. Thoroughly coat a cotton bud in the tint mixture, close the eye and apply to your lashes, coating them thoroughly. Take your time to avoid getting the tint mixture in the eye. Set your timer (missing from the photo. I used the timer on my iPhone) and keep the eye closed while processing.

Combinal suggests 8 – 10 minutes processing time, but I found 15 minutes works best for me.

Once the processing time has completed, soak a cotton pad in cool water (I like to use Avene thermal spray to cool and soothe the eyes) and gently remove any excess tint with a downward motion. Remove the remaining petroleum jelly. Repeat on the entire process on the other eye.

And voila! img_2893

img_2895

The photos don’t do the tint justice, because the effect is really noticeable in person, but I wanted to you get a before and after look. I’m a happy bunny in any case. Combinal doesn’t irritate my eyes, the tint is deep (I used no. 1, Black) and my lashes even look a little thicker. All that is left is to see how long it lasts before I need to do them again. Combinal suggests it should last three to four weeks.

I bought Combinal tint and developer at Beauty Express who offer competitive prices and fast delivery.

 

If at any time while the tint mixture is on your lashes, your eye starts to burn or feel uncomfortable, remove the tint with cotton pads that have been soaked first in cool water. Despite a negative patch test, it is possible you may not be able to use the tint or you may have got some of the mixture in your eye. At this point it is up to you if you want to try again.

2 thoughts on “Combinal Lash & Brow Tint

  1. I am so lazy when it comes to mascara … I’d like to try this lash tint. Mine are almost all white now especially on the bottom lid. It looks like I have zero lashes! Obviously, I’m just getting caught up on all your posts – I seem to have lost you again. 🙂

    Like

    • Hey Lynne! I’m here on WordPress, posting every Friday. I’m trying to be disciplined about it…..

      I can highly recommend lash tinting, even if you have to get it done at a salon. Call me vain, but I can’t deal with how ageing the colourless eye lash look is!

      Ali

      Like

Comment allez-vous?

