Getting Bookish with NetGallley

 

6862546d1ce06d3ac48d56d699cfa90c

One of my goals for 2017 and beyond is to get back to reading more books. I’m an avid reader and have been since childhood. I was fortunate to grow up in a household where books and magazines were everywhere and both my parents read and encouraged the habit. However like so many people, I found my reading habit being eroded by time spent online that frankly, wasn’t doing me any good.

Recently I discovered a brilliant reading service called NetGalley. NetGalley is an online library which acts as a connection point for book publishers, reviewers, librarians etc.. to promote new and upcoming titles by connecting you, the reader, with new books. pro_reader_120

The difference between NetGalley and a site like Goodreads is that you borrow as well as review books (virtually, there are no physical books so you will need an e-reader or reading app). There is a massive library to choose from, covering almost any category of book you can think of. If you don’t spot it on the site, you can enter the author’s name, the book title or the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) of the title you are after and do a search. Some titles are not yet in print, so you are getting a first read, as it were, and your review can help promote it.

I have a Kindle Paperwhite my husband bought me for my birthday two years ago which is perfect for this.  At present, I have two books from NetGalley and am happily getting back into the habit!

http-signatures-mylivesignature-com-54494-321-6db723d1156f10278580074a002bb7da

 

2 thoughts on “Getting Bookish with NetGallley

  1. I’m not reading as much lately either. After two years, I still have not got a proper light next to my bed which seems to be the only place I like to read. So I’m on the hunt for a new light, and on those cold days we have a fire I’m heading down to the couch and trying to get back into the habit. I think I’m going to have to limit my online time to an hour a day or something, otherwise I get sucked into Pinterest, Instagram or whatever and half the day is shot. 🙂

    Like

Comment allez-vous?

